

Banner Witcoff Elects New President, Board Members, and Shareholders

More Than 60% of New Shareholders are Women

January 27, 2025, Chicago, IL — Banner Witcoff announces the election of firm president Katie Laatsch Fink, two new members of the board of directors, and eight new shareholders.

Katie said, "I am thrilled to be elected as the next president of Banner Witcoff, a firm I have been with for nearly 20 years. I thank Janice Mitrius for her service as president and congratulate the newest board members and shareholders as we continue to provide exceptional intellectual property representation and counseling for our clients."

Recognized as one of Chicago's most notable women lawyers, Katie represents clients in intellectual property litigation and counsels clients in managing their intellectual property portfolios. Katie has served on the firm's board of directors since January 2021, and she is an active member of the International Trademark Association, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, and Chicago Women in IP.

Katie earned a B.S. in Systems Science and Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania and a J.D. from Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law.

Additionally, Elizabeth Almeter and Erik Maurer were elected to serve on the board of directors.

We are also excited to announce the election of eight shareholders, a class that includes more than 60% women and spans the firm's Washington, D.C. and Chicago offices:

- Laura Brutman, Principal Shareholder, Washington, D.C.
- Evi Christou, Principal Shareholder, Washington, D.C.
- Hengyi Jiang, Principal Shareholder, Washington, D.C.
- Heather Smith-Carra, Principal Shareholder, Washington, D.C.
- Jay Bombien, Shareholder, Chicago
- Alex Bruening, Shareholder, Chicago
- Sonia Okolie, Shareholder, Washington, D.C.
- Michelle Zhang, Shareholder, Washington, D.C.

Posted: January 27, 2025